Tags

, , , , ,

Hello all, and happy Monday. Welcome to day two of THEME WEEK.

You asked for monochromatic week and I am delivering. All week I am creating monochrome looks from all the colors of the rainbow. Or most of them. Some of them. Anyway.

The good news is that I changed my mind about not going in order. See, I was really intimidated by going red. I personally love the color red, but I was certain I didn’t own enough items to create a solid red looks. And well, I still really don’t. BUT then I remembered that red has cousins, second cousins and third cousins once removed. There’s fuchsia, mauve, maroon, wine, burgundy, cardinal, pink…the list goes on. And thusly? I went to town.




I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again. What I really love about doing a theme week is that it always challenges me to dress outside the box. I always end up putting together outfits that I would NEVER think to try in the day-t0-day, but that I totally dig. This is a good example of that. I would probably never pair these items together, ordinarily. Nor would I wear this much maroon/mauve/pink/etc. But once it was on? I loved it.

Someone asked if I plan to incorporate neutrals as part of my monochrome looks. I say no, for the most part. I think part of the fun of utilizing the colors of the rainbow is to really utilize them. With one exception – shoes. Because, believe it or not, I do not own shoes in all the colors of the rainbow. Sad day. I did own red and pink shoes but they were recently purged from my closet, due to how extremely worn and unsupportive they were. If it makes me you feel any better, I purchased two new pairs today. In memoriam, of course.

All in all, I am pleased with my red(ish) look. It strikes me as sort of strange dancer-like costume, but I thoroughly enjoyed swishing around in it all day. I even got one compliment from ,my teller at the bank this morning. She said, “Cute outfit” in a voice that was completely MONOtone and flat. This led me to wonder if she was a) really tired, b) hung over, c) being insincere, or d) just really in on the joke. I’m still not really sure.

Tie Top – Max Rave
Maroon Tank – Target
Skirt – F21
Necklace – Work
Shoes – Old Navy
Scarf – Work

Title courtesy of Elliott Smith – “Coming Up Roses”

