Tags

, , , , , ,

Hi everyone! It’s Labor Day weekend already? Holy gee. I can’t even believe it. I was off today but I’ll be working the weekend. No matter, because I got to spend a little time  boating today, so I got my little taste of holiday fun. Whatever your plans this weekend, I hope everyone has a fabulous and safe holiday. I am totally that old person who tells people to “be safe” or “be good” but whatever.

Today we are rounding out our THEME WEEK! I have to say this has been a weird theme week. Unexpectedly challenging and with a few naysayers along the way. Just in case, here is a definition of monochromatic for anyone who is confused or for the “I don’t like this outfit because it’s all [color of the day]” crowd. Um. Sorry?

Monochromatic: (adjective) [mon.o.chro.mat.ic]

  • of or having one color.
  • of, pertaining to, or having tones of one color in addition to the ground hue
  • Optics, pertaining to a light of one color or to radiation of a single wavelength or narrow range of wavelengths
  • ophthalmology. of or pertaining to monochromatism

Today’s wavelength? True blue, baby.


So with blue, I had the opposite problem of most of the other colors. Blue is a huge staple color in my wardrobe. I love it muchly in many a shade. In fact the problem today was that I have so much blue, I hardly knew where to begin. I decided to start with this skirt, which I love, but have not yet worn this year. Several compliment today, affirmed what a great skirt is is. I love how flouncy it is, and the fun texture.

Blue is also such a classic color. I did not want to detract from its esthetic by going overkill. I just built from the skirt up with a few simple layers and I’m pretty pleased with it. I daresay it came out a little boring, but it proved perfect for my day. I wore the full getup around town while the air was still crisp, then ditched the layering for our lake excursion.

This is where I open up the floor though. This theme week came so highly requested, but some of the comments have me wondering if you’ve changed your mind. Which is totally okay, but now I’m curious. How do we feel about monochrome now? Would you rock a solid color look in your own daily life? Do tell!

Skirt – Max Rave
Striped Button-Down – 5.7.9
Blue Tank – Work
Necklace – Thrifted
Shoes – Work
Belt – Thrifted

Title courtesy of The Corrs (Cover) – “Stars Go Blue”

