Tags

, , , ,

Happy Labor Day, all! I hope this holiday finds the most of you celebrating and doing little in the way of labor. I know that’s about how things went for me. I discovered “Project Runway” today on OnDemand. I know. Don’t shoot me. Aside from a brief-lived cultural fascination with Christian Siriano and a deranged running crush on Tim Gunn, I had no prior insight into the phenomenon. I’m about ten years late to the party, but that’s usually how I roll. On the plus side, I now have total inspiration to create a new aesthetic for myself for fall. I love it.

Otherwise today finds me a little melancholy. I have a case of the mean reds for sure, and I think it’s weather-related. Oh kiddies. I don’t know about your neck of the woods, but where I live, something is brewing. And I’m pretty sure that something is fall. It’s been cool and breezy and rapidly growing darker at earlier hours. I already fended off a bag of candy corn at the grocery store. This afternoon I turned off the air-conditioning, lit a cranberry scented candle and cracked the windows. And tomorrow I won’t miss a beat to drink my first Pumpkin Spice Latte. It’s true, I welcome my favorite season openly, but I was totally not over summer yet. Where did it even go? My summer adventure log is still nearly empty and what do I have to show for it?

Sigh. One last summer outfit?

Fare thee well, little white linen shorts! Although a case can be made for select white garments after the Labor Day Holiday, I don’t think little white shorty shorts are one of them. I have these shorts to thank for making it okay to wear shorts again this summer, and I will miss them. Still, today felt like a final hurrah. I mean considering it was a holiday and there weren’t even any people out at the pool, I’d say our fling is over. You’ll be missed, but not forgotten.

Also bordering on inappropriately summery would be this blue checkered shirt. Although, it can probably be downplayed at a later date, with the aid of other neutrals. I just felt like pairing it atop a pair of white shorts, with a big thick tanned belt, and some sandals. It’s simple but quintessentially so. A good classic holiday look and a fond farewell to warm weather.  

What about you guys? Is it still summer in your corner of the world? How are you celebrating the end of the season? And more importantly, what are you wearing for the transition?

Shirt – Thrifted
Shorts – 5.7.9
Belt – 5.7.9
Shoes – Candie’s

Title courtesy of Grease: The Musical – “Summer Lovin'”

