Tags

, , , ,

Jenny [LastName]
Closet365
September 9, 2010

How I Spent My Summer Vacation

My summer vacation began in earnest circa July, when it finally stopped snowing in Colorado. I spent the majority of my summer working, as is always the case. I worked more than usual this summer though, and so did The Husband, so we didn’t get to do a lot of the things that we usually like to do, as much as we usually like to do them. We did however, go on one very nice camping trip and went to a Tom Petty Concert and ate some frozen yogurt and watched a lot of Netflix. So it was okay.

Another thing I did this summer was I tried to train for a half-marathon. I got up almost every  morning to complete hour long runs, long runs, trail runs. I drank a lot of Gatorade and explored new trails and was enjoying my experience. I was even very excited about running my race. It was going very well, but then I hurt my hip and had to quit. I passed the time instead by wearing a bunch of outfits and whining. And reading a couple of books.

Because of my injury, I also had to scale back my summer adventures. We went to the lake but I did not get to do one of my favorite things, which is wakeboarding, because I was scared of how it might aggravate my hip. This made me very sad and I only went on the boat a couple of more times.

Today it was very warm, which makes it still kind of summer. The husband and I both had a day off work so we went to the lake again. The husband asked me if I wanted to wakeboard and at first I said no because I still don’t want to hurt my hip. Only I’ve been trying very carefully to start running again and am still not having much luck. It occurred to me that there wasn’t much I could do to my hip that could jeopardize my already complete lack of success. So I said, you know what? Fuck you hip. I am going wakeboarding. And I did. And it was awesome.

 

So while the rest of style blogland is out living it up in NYC for Fashion Week, I am uber jealous. I almost feel like a tool that I’m just sailing the high seas of Colorado in my lake rat duds. BUT you only live once. And you happen to be doing that living in Colorado, especially, you only get so many precious sunny days. I feel privileged that I managed to sneak in a couple of boarding runs for my summer to feel complete.

I have 100+ more outfits to go, and about six months of cold for me to commence with the fancy fall clothes and all the trimmings. I promise the project will be going a little more high(er) fashion in the months to come. But I had to get my kicks while the barometer is still my friend.

And then I drove home in my car with the heat on full blast, because summer really is kind of over. But at least I went out with a bang. Or maybe a massive faceplant when I popped off the board and went flying into the water. Or maybe some of both. But either way. It was awesome.

Pink Polo – Work
Printed Polo – Aeropostale
Shorts – 5.7.9
Shoes – Wet Seal

Title courtesy of High School Musical 2 – “All For One”

