Happy Friday all!

I’m going to apologize in advance, for how scattered I’m feeling for the next five days. My excitement for vacation is palpable at this point. I wish I had a time machine to propel me to next Tuesday evening when I will officially be off work. I’m just hoping it will be a quick weekend. What about you guys? Any fun upcoming plans?

My outfit is pretty simple today, but as promised – layering! This dress was sort of a bore when I wore it back in April. I feel like although it’s a simple summery dress, added layers give it some interest. Although, I wish I could do something about the length. It feels a little matronly to me. In any event it’s comfy and light and one stride closer to fall. Friend Friday questions are below. See you Saturday!

Friend Friday questions courtesy of Katy at Modly Chic:

1. Do you pay attention to the shows during fashion week? Which designers collections are you looking forward to seeing?
My interest in fashion week waxes and wanes depending on the year and my station in life. Honestly, some years, if I’m particularly distracted or feeling down on my look (or my budget) I avoid the coverage. But this year I am very excited! I am feeling ready for new looks, I’m anxious to see what trends will eventually be hitting the stores. I’m also always more interested in fall collections, so I’ll be watching. I’m excited for the big names. I have a soft spot for the old schools big names of the 1990s when I first took interest in fashion. I always love seeing what Chanel, Calvin Klein, Dior, D&G, etc. are up to. This year I have to admit I’m actually excited to see what Tommy Hilfiger is up to, because the ad campaign this year is stunning. And admittedly I’m excited for any of the “Project Runway” kids.

2. Where are you getting your Fashion Week news from?
Elle is an old standby. I also like New York Magazine.

3. Over the years the runway has become more than just models displaying the creations of a designer. They are now spectacles. Do you think that adds or detracts from the fashion?
Yes and no. I think it’s just a sign of the times. We’re such a multimedia culture anymore, it’s hard to imagine we’d be content to just sit tight and watch a straightforward fashion show. Does it change the fashion? Yes, but I don’t think it detracts from it. If anything, I think it just makes good design that much more important because a line must step it up to capture the audience’s attention.

4. Twice a year, as models begin to strut the catwalk we see articles about model size and body image. Do you think the super thin models are offering an unattainable goal to the public or are we immune to their looks?
Oh my God, this discussion is so 1995, it makes me sad that we are still talking about it. I wish that fashion week could move beyond fashion in one size, and I think we’re making strides. Albiet at a painfully painfully slow pace. And of course, it’s the prerogative of the designer, the artist, what aesthetic to aim for. Are we immune to the looks of the models? I’d like to think I am, but God help the adolescent girls of this world who are still so vulnerable. Maybe one day we’ll get there.

5. If you could sit front row at any show what would you want to see? And which celebrity would you want to be sitting next to?
I’d go to a fun show like Betsey Johnson or Heatherette for the spectacle of it. And I’d want to sit next to Jay-Z and Beyoncé.

Dress – Thrifted
Tank – F21
Knit Vest – Charlotte Russe
Necklace – Wet Seal
Bracelets – Work
Shoes – Thrifted (Candie’s)

Title courtesy of Flight of The Conchords – “Fashion is Danger”

