Tags

, , , , ,

Hello there. Happy Saturday.

On an average day for me, between the blog and my administrative duties at work I usually end up writing the date no less than 10 times every day. So today, I couldn’t help but be aware of the date. I can’t believe it’s been nine years. I was reading some of the coverage this morning and it dawned on me that the nine-year anniversary is somewhat alarming because it also marks nine years of being a grown-up. Where did all the time go?

For me 9/11 was such a marked event in terms of passage into adulthood. When the attacks happened, I was barely a freshman in college. Here I was, just moved away from home for the first time in my life and  all of a sudden everything around me changed drastically. The economy was never really the same. Suddenly everyone and everything seemed a little more hyper-aware, a little more politically charged, culturally sensitive, spiritually inclined, etc. Reality seemed harsher and I’ll never know  for certain if it was just the simple fact of my growing up or if the world really did change that day.

 

On a less somber note – New Favorite Outfit! After a couple of days of yawn-worthy getups, I am totally in love here. Of course it could be the volume of trademark Jenny items working in collaboration – big yellow dress, stripey cardigan, belt, big necklace. That is a recipe for happiness in my book. It was one of the rare occasions where I conceived an idea in my very own head and bore it into a successful execution. Hip hip hooray!

I thought the shape of the necklace might be at odds with the stripes. But as it turns out, a pop of white was just what was needed to complete the outfit. Sometimes, I wonder if I’m getting too old to wear so much loud color. Like at what age are we cut off from wearing circus brights?  I really don’t know. Because I feel like some women will always pull off a colorful look, while others look far too garish. 

Something to think about, but today I think it works.This look garnered a handful of compliments and otherwise brightened a long crappy day at work. So the outfit is a life preserver, and not just because of the color.

Dress – 5.7.9
Cardigan – Thrifted (Charlotte Russe)
Belt – Stolen off a shirt
Necklace – Rue 21
Shoes – Thrifted

Title courtesy of Weezer – “The World Has Turned and Left Me Here”

