Tags

, , , , , ,

Hey all. Greeting to you from the tail end of a loooooong weekend. I can’t even tell you how slow the days are moving right now. We have entered the molasses time warp of weeks. The good new is I only have two more days until vacation. The bad news is twwwwwwoooooo  mooooooooorrrrre  daaaaaaaays  untillllllllllllllllllll   vaaaaaacccccaaaaaaatttttion.

It doesn’t help that work has been quite quiet this week. Usually, when I am overdue for a vacation you can peg in in my attitude towards the customers. They grate on my nerves something extra and I basically avoid dealing with them if/when possible. But this time I am all about it. I am grateful for even the most high-maintenance and awful people that darken my door. Got a return that’s way past policy? Fabulous! Need to see the same shirt from up high, four different times? I’m your girl! Want to peruse the clearance jewelry for two freaking hours, as if it’s the decision of a lifetime? Be my guest. Oooh! Oooh! I got an idea! Let’s have a ten minute argument by the fitting room about why you cannot try on underwear! I am just everybody’s bestie this week. Just grateful for any sort of interaction to pass the time.

I’d like to thank everyone for the feedback yesterday regarding age and color choices. I really enjoyed the discussion, and there were some wonderful points made. So go back a day and check it out, if you’re so inclined. As for today, I tried something else new with color. See, usually when I rock a printed skirt, I stick to a safe color choice for the blouse. Namely, black or white. But today I decided to play a little and I’m totally stoked about this combo. It’s unusual, but really pretty, I think. 

This blouse was one of my garage sale finds. I got it from a little hippie yard sale, so I feel like it’s actually meant to be paired with some baggy hemp pants and sandals. I’ll probably get around to that at some point, but for today I thought it did a nice turn looking vintage and preppy.

I’m not even sure the photos really captured it, but the blend of the muted dusty rose, with the bright turquoise and the play of whites had me head over heels all day. I believe it is eye-catching without being obnoxious or overdone. It’s not often that I step outside the matchy-matchy box that I reside in, but this outfit reminded me that it can be safe to do sometimes. Fun even. The shell tones in my jewelry helped tie it all together and I was not struck down by fashion God lightning bolts, nor did anyone look at me funny. Phew.

Shirt – Garage Sale
Skirt – Thrifted
Belt – Thrifted
Earrings – 5.7.9
Bracelet – Santa Fe Flea Markets
Shoes – Work

 Title courtesy of The Noisettes – “Wild Young Hearts”

