Tags

Hello and good evening! This will be quick, because I know it’s Friday and everyone is busy anyway. While I am on vacation, I personally am exhausted. Oh friends, I have been shopping!

I know, I know. But it’s been so long since I can honestly say I’ve had a pure shopping experience. Years, maybe. There is shopping and then there is Shopping. This year I have mostly been thrifting, which is its own fun and a kind of adventure. Or picking up a few pieces here and there. But it’s been ages so long since I’ve gone shopping for the sake of shopping. Just me and the mall and a million pretty shiny things. It’s a spiritual thing, really. Schlepping around until my feet hurt and I’m starving and disoriented and can’t remember where I parked my car. Ogling and spending. Getting lost and then found again. High on perfume fumes and with no real sense of time. Yes, it has been a very long time since I’ve been Real Shopping.

And in a nice mall and everything. I had forgotten just how nice it can be. To just be around friendly attractive people and high-end goodies. (I like a good window shopping binge, too.) The sights! The smells! Multiple floors! Real customer service! It was a splendid treat and a much-needed excursion. It really was.

Terrible pictures today, sorry. The husband and I went separate ways so that he could socialize with some friends in the area , while I shopped. And because I didn’t know the neighborhood well enough to go out and take pictures, I was limited to the dark hotel hallway. But whatever.

Recycled dress with a grown-up lady spin. I kind of feel like Snow White goes to the Big City with my red lips and my headband. This is essentially me just playing dress-up, for no particular reason other than I am in the city and shopping and wanted to piece together a few of my favorite things. So. Houndstooth, big yellow coat, obnoxious blingy pearls and makeup it is. All that’s missing is some too big high-heels and oversized shopping bags. (Although those came later.)

And now I’m going to take my pretty grown-up lady act on the road. Since I don’t have to be up and at ’em for any half-marathon tomorrow morning (bitter moi?) we are going out on the town. The end.

Dress – Thrifted (F21)
Coat – Thrifted (Candie’s)
Necklace – 5.7.9
Shoes – Thrifted

Title courtesy of Green Day – “Jesus of Suburbia”

