Tags

, , , ,

Welp. Bummer dudes.

As predicted when I was feeling sickish the other day, the big ickness caught up with me today. I woke up this morning with a raw throat and a general sense of doom. So I rolled back under the covers and have spent most of the day just bumming around. Employing the usual battalion of home remedies, because I do have to work all weekend. I’m pretty sure taking a sick day after a vacation is frowned upon, so buck up I must. But I’ll get around to that tomorrow.

Apologies because I most definitely phoned it in on getting dressed today. This is about as lame as it gets. I actually wore yoga pants most of the day but upgraded to jeans for the sake of photos. And I seriously couldn’t even be bothered to accessorize. Sorry, peeps. I will owe you something cute tomorrow. Plus theme week will find me pretty dressy all next week. That’s all I can say about that for now. But trust, I will make it up to you.

Well there’s not much to be said about some jeans, flip-flops, an alma mater t-shirt and a hoodie is there? So let’s not.

Here are Friend Friday questions courtesy of Katy at Modly Chic:

1. What do you think are some of the top fashion don’ts? (Things you would never be caught dead in and cringe when other people wear them.)

I think it takes all kinds when it comes to fashion. Some people can absolutely pull things off that I would call a “don’t” for myself. I’d say I’m more picky about the basic fashion etiquette. Not wearing a proper bra for the garment you’re wearing (i.e. a regular issue bra with a halter top, straps with a strapless top, etc.) are big don’ts. Ditto wearing things that are just ill-fitting and bad for your proportions. Otherwise, I continue to be amazed at what people pull off that I previously would have considered a “don’t.” Fashion blogging has certainly broadened my horizons.

That said, socks and sandals? NO. Just don’t do it.

2. What previous fashion don’t do you now wear with pride?

I have recently added pattern mixing to my repertoire. I previously would have shunned this trend but now I’m big on mixing my florals and stripes and what have you. As I said, blogging has really changed some of my perspectives. Which is cool, I think.

3. Do you think there is a universal fashion do?

The little black dress. Enough said.

4. What items lately, either recently in style or coming in now, do you think should never make it off the retail shelves?

I really like a lot of the trends this year. But I have to say I am SO GLAD to see the 80s crap being phased out. That was a fashion decade that never should have happened. Let alone come back and haunted us for half of the 2000s.

I’m also thoroughly confused about Silly Bandz. Someone please explain this to me.

5. In your opinion, is there any blogger, fashion icon, celebrity who some how manages to pull off some fashion don’ts and still look good?

It depends. In fashion blogging I’d say there is a lot of smoke and mirrors going on. Not really on this blog obviously, but there are several blogs that I’ve come to realize have very little to do with the clothes. Because some of the clothes are actually really terrible. And yet, with the right model and photography anything can look good.

Ditto celebs I suppose, if a pretty person is wearing it, you’d be amazed at what can be pulled off. And anyway, now we have Lady Gaga. Nothing is weird anymore.

 Title courtesy of Mika – “Relax, Take it Easy”

