Tags

, , , , ,

Good evening everyone!

I’ve been thinking about it, and I’ve decided that I could really use a catchphrase. Something uniquely me, to open the blog with each day and spare me from cycling through my collection of banal salutations every day. If you think about it, a lot of cool people have catchphrases. Tim Gunn says “Make it work,” Emeril has “Bam!,” Paris Hilton, in her heyday had the ultimate – “That’s hot.”

Even my least favorite yoga teacher at the gym has a catchphrase. Which is part of why I cannot stand attending her class. I used to it was because her class was boring. If I want to stand in forward fold for the better part of an hour, I can do that at home and watch TV at the same time. So I avoided her class altogether.  Then on Monday night we were caught unaware by her substitute teachings. It was too late to pack up my mat and book it, so I politely endured an hour of forward fold. During which time I was able to do a lot of contemplation and ascertain that what really bugs me? Is her voice. It sounds vaguely like she’s trying to speak Orca ala Dory in “Finding Nemo.” But anyway. Her catchphrase is “beautiful work, people” or “beeeeeeauuuutiful worrrrrrk peoeoeople.”

Over the years I’ve tried various expressions on for size. There was “oy vey” during my Yiddish phase. “Good God” when I was feeling WASP-y. And I like to singlehandedly credit myself for bring “y’all” to the great white North. My friends still haven’t thanked me for that one, but I know they are secretly really grateful. Yet nothing has ever really stuck. I need something truly me. Something with real panache, that I can say every day and not get tired of. Something catchy enough for other people to borrow. But not so generic that it not longer belongs to me. You know? Let me know if you’ve got any suggestions.

I had slightly more pep in my step for getting dressed today, because I was headed back to work first thing. And my hot water issues got fixed late yesterday. So I finally got a real hot shower, with my own shampoo and towels and everything. I still look like death warmed over from a lack of sleep, but one of these days I think I am really going to resemble whole again. I swear it.

Anyway. When I looked out the window this morning it was really dreary grey and a quick hop out onto the balcony confirmed that it was also chilly. I thought this might be an apropos day to busy out the textured tights. First tight-wearing of the fall season. Heck yes! Fun tights were by far the highlight of my winter/early spring and I’ve missed them truly over the summer. I have a couple of new pairs that I just can’t wait to style up.

Something I am not totally sold on is this dress. I wore it earlier this year with some additionally layering but have been kicking around this plain version for awhile. I like the styling, but the cut of the dress is really bothering me. I think this might be one that I pass on. Because, while I love the print and the cute bell sleeves, I feel like a dress shouldn’t take work to be flattering. Whereas this one requires a lot of little tweaks – layers, accessories, etc. Eh. What do you guys think? Maybe I’m missing something?

Dress – Thrifted (I ♥ Ronson)
Belt – Thrifted
Tights – Work
Shoes – Payless
Necklace – F21

Title courtesy of Brandon Flowers – “Hard Enough”

