Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Ahhhhhhhh YOU GUYS! I’m not even going to pretend like I can be subdued about this, because the fact is that I am very excited and probably feeling the best I’ve felt in weeks. Yessssssss!

Let me explain. So, if you’ve been reading the blog for a little bit, you probably know (How could you not? Unless you literally do not read the text portion of the blog. Which is fine too. But also means you aren’t reading this. Lalalalalala.) that I hurt my hip back in early August and that the injury completely derailed me from all running activity, including running my first half marathon. It’s been a rough couple of months, and I want to thank  those of you who have checked in with me the past few weeks. Seriously. It meant a lot. Aside from just how devastating it was to forego my race, recovery has been a stupid long and frustrating process. I literally didn’t run for about six weeks and then struggled through some Couch-to-5k runs after that. And then took a couple of weeks off and then started again. Blah blah blah. Etc.

But within the past two weeks or so, I’ve started to get some of my mojo back. I’ve been able to run without stopping and the pain is finally gone. So today, I decided on a whim to attempt a 5k. Not a real race. Just a measured 5k out in the neighborhood to see if I could even do it. And guess what? Not only did I manage it,  but according to my Nike+ sensor that tracks my runs – I have not lost any of my old pace! I am just as fast as I was two months ago! I am elated you guys! Here I have been having the crappiest couple of months, and without an outlet to really channel my frustrations. So to go for a run today – a real Honest to God run – and conquer it? Well, that was pretty much the very thing I really needed right now.

So that is the story of my day thus far. I am thisclose to signing up for a race next Saturday. I haven’t decided. Honestly my hesitation has more to do with the fact that the race got snowed out last year, and less to do with my confidence.

Anyway. My morning run seemed like cause for celebration. I opted for the most celebratory and yet unworn top currently circulating in my closet. This blouse was one of the fruits of my last thrifting trips with The Mom. I think the pattern is just smashing. Unfortunately when I put it on, I thought less of the fit. In my twitterpainted state upon first glancing the top, I must have failed to notice one glaring warning sign.  That warning sign, which was covered by the Goodwill tag, is that the top is from Old Navy. We’ve already recently discussed how I feel about goods from Old Navy, so I won’t beat a dead horse. Let’s just say A+ on the print, C- on the cut.

My original intentions for styling this blouse took a back seat as I attempted to come up with something a little more flattering. I’m not completely sold on what I came up with, but it is the most colorful and accessorized look I’ve put together in recent history. We are wearing multiple colors! And a belt! And a necklace! And some colored tights even! Could it be that I my sense inspiration, like my stride, has once again returned?

Top – Thrifted (Old Navy)
Blue Tank – Work
Necklace – Work
Belt – Thrifted
Tights – Thrifted
Skirt – Max Rave
Shoes – Payless

Title courtesy of Elton John – “Bitch is Back”

