Tags

, , , , , ,

Can I just say that the date today has me a bit tripped out? Let me backtrack. A little over a year ago, I took a blogging class. It’s okay. You can laugh. But I actually did take a class through our local Park & Rec chapter, about blogging. Reason being that I hadn’t the faintest idea about the technology aspects of blogging. For years I had wanted to start a blog. Lots of people told me that I should have a blog. I knew it would be up my alley and I toyed around with the idea for literally years. My excuse was always that I just simply didn’t understand the logistics of setting one up and getting it out there, etc. So I took the class to eliminate the last of my excuses

Our teacher was a rather knowledgeable fellow who covered just about everything I need to know. As it turned out, the actual act of blogging in incredibly easy. (Which explains why even some of the dumbest people I knew had blogs, before I ever got around to it. Seriously. Even the cast of “Jersey Shore” could do this.) But I was in for a surprise when the blogging teacher explained to us that the actual trick to blogging was to have a niche.  A topic that was unique to you, yet interesting to the masses. You know, something to actually write about. He suggested that one’s blog should be about something that we enjoyed discussing. Because if you’re passionate about something, you’ll have lots to blog about. We were asked to make a list of things that we found interesting and enjoyed writing about. And it was then that I realized that “myself” was maybe not a very good answer. I was sort of crestfallen and pretty convinced that given the state of things, I would never have a blog.

It took probably another month past when the blogging classed ended, for me to actually conceive the idea for this blog. But what does any of this have to do with the date today? Well, my blogging teacher was a very entrepreneurial sort and would often ask us where we wanted to be on 10-10-10. Where did we see ourselves? What would we be doing? It was a big date and still a year away then. Just about anything could happen in the interim! So now it’s actually 10-10-10 and my life looks nothing like I imagined it would a year ago. For better and for worse. It just didn’t happen.

But you know something? I do have a blog after all.

Small wonder, but that’s the beauty of blogging. All you need is a raging case of narcissism and some sub par photography skills. And that’s a blog, son!

If there’s one thing I know about narcissism (and I know a lot!) it’s that you never apologize for it. Why would you need to? When you’re fascinating you don’t need to apologize for anything. Did you ever read “Love Story”? I Love you means never having to say you’re sorry. Or something like that. And everybody loves a narcissist. So no apology necessary! I think. But I do feel kinda bad about the lack of proper pictures, today. It was super windy and cold and my tripod blew over three times, before I gave up, lest anything should happen to my camera.

About this outfit? Well, on account of how chilly it was, I just craved lots and lots of layers. Leggings, cardigan, scarves, the works. I’m even wearing a skirt as dress. Ill-advised, maybe in hindsight, but I liked the swingy, shapeless mod-like feel of it. These are my new boots and I’m sorry I neglected to get a detail shot, but pretty much we are in love. So I’m sure you’ll be catching another glimpse again soon. It’s all a little random but today was one of the first real cold snaps. I am re-learning the art of layers. Meanwhile I was warm and toasty. And it’s 10-10-10. And I have a blog. That’s all that really matters, isn’t it?

Dress/Skirt – Ross
Cardigan – 5.7.9
Leggings – Work
Boots – F21
Scarf – 5.7.9
Necklace – The Icing

Title courtesy of Erasure – “Chains of Love”

