Tags

, , , , , ,

Oy guys. Is anyone else feeling completely and totally overwhelmed with life right now? I confess that I am. And I’m not sure if it’s because of or in spite of the fact that the holidays are approaching. Yes, I just said that. The holidays are approaching. Can you even believe it? It seems like just yesterday I was sitting around tinkering with a banner for this blog and preparing to start the project. Not finish it. Whew.

In my store, I don’t see a lot of daylight, so I’ve learned to tell what time of year it is by the merchandise coming and going. Some people use schmancy techniques like reading sun dials, charting the barometric pressure or observing the phases of the moon. But I can tell time in skirts and sandals, boots and sweaters. Although in retail, things happen to come about one season ahead of time. It just so happens that I have been running my store for two and a half years now, so I have the routine almost down pat. Today, I clearanced out some of the last of the sleeveless tops, which was one sign that The Season is creeping up. And then the unthinkable happened – the mittens and the gift sets arrived. So basically we are effed now.

I am actually kind of looking forward to Christmas but I swear I am going to suck every last drop of downtime out of the next few weeks. Starting with our cabin journey the rest of the week.  Run! Time to unplug, while I still can!





I am excited about today’s look! I have to say. I put it on and it was instant gratification. It all just fell right into place. Just add scarf. And boots. And jacket. Well…  you get the picture.  Like oh hey there, Instant BAMF How you doin’?. No tweaking necessary. Some days you really just need an effortless look and today felt like one of those.

This is my new favorite blazer. I’m not usually big on blazer jackets. They just don’t seem to work well on my frame. But this one works well for me, because it’s got a really nice feminine shape. Especially once I performed surgery on it. I had to cure it of its shoulder pads. Seriously? What is the story behind shoulder pads making it past the mid 80s? Who benefits from them? Who still insists on putting them into garments? Who thinks that is okay?!?! But anyway, once I slayed those beasts, the jacket was perfect.

I wanted to keep the rest of the look simple, so I just stuck with a black and grey palette and some houndstooth action for good measure. I’m a little torn on what generation this look belongs to. On one hand it feels completely retro, “Say Anything” style. On the other, I also get a modern-business-lady-with-an-ass-kicking agenda vibe from it. Thoughts?

Jacket – Thrifted
Black Tunic Tee – Work
Grey Tunic Tank – Work
Black Leggings – Work
Scarf – Work
Boots – Target

Title courtesy of OneRepublic – “Marchin’ On”

