Tags

, , , , ,

Good afternoon.

Sadly, I am at home right now. We decided, for various reasons not to go to the cabin. I know. Being decisive isn’t one of our strong points and in the end the trip was going to involve too much extra work. I’m bummed but just taking it easy for the time being, at home. Might as well enjoy the silence, yes? I am going to take a nap and do some reading. The other day, I went to the library and checked out umpteen (that’s an approximate figure) books on organization. Organize your life! Makeover Your Space! How to Organize Anything and Everything! Etc. My reading choices speak volumes about what I’m craving in life right now, which is order. I think it’s this time of year. With hibernation season impending, am compelled towards changing the Feng Shui. 

But at the same time I also checked out two blatantly trashy memoirs. Care to wager a guess at which I’m reading first this afternoon? If I can’t create order in my own life, I can at least read about people whose lives are completely and totally out of control and feel better about myself. Yes!!

If I were to write my memoirs, I might title them “All Dressed Up. No Place to Go.” Or I might not. It’s awfully cliché don’t you think? And anyway, I’m not writing my memoirs. It wouldn’t be a terribly interesting story. But the title stands. Here I am on a day off. Absolutely nothing to do. And I’m wearing a ruffled shirt and a crisp pleated skirt. I feel cute but my cats aren’t terribly impressed. I stepped out to get the mail and take these pictures and that’s about it.

But actually, I am wearing my purple shirt today for Spirit Day. If you haven’t heard via Facebook or another blog, October 20th is a day designated to wear purple in honor of the six boys who recently committed suicide due to homophobic bullying and in support of the LBGTQ community.

This is not a political blog by any means. I choose not to discuss controversial issues with others, because I feel it only generates negative energy and is rarely productive. Which is not to say be passive, but rather that there is an appropriate time and place. And this isn’t one of them. So I’ll say just this: I wear purple today because I stand against violence, discrimination, hatred and intolerance. And because there is always room for more love and compassion in the world. I think that about covers it.

Ruffle Shirt – Work
Skirt – Thrifted
Belt – Thrifted
Necklace – Work
Shoes – Work

Title courtesy of The Scissor Sisters – “Fire With Fire”

 

