Tags

, , , ,

Happy Monday! And welcome back to THEME WEEK!

Things are starting to get exciting at work this week because lots of people are finally catching the Halloween spirit. This means a lot of last-minute item shopping. I don’t mind though, I thoroughly enjoy learning about what people are dressing up as and helping them put the finishing touches on their costume. Best costume that I helped out with today? Glenda the Good Witch After Being Sold Into Prostitution. And the Orbitz Gum spokeslady. True story. I thought both deserved bonus points for originality.

For my part, I am getting into costume every day this Theme Week. The idea is to pay tribute to some of my favorite icons of fashion and pop-culture. Using their style and significance as inspiration, while still making a wearable everyday outfit. Today’s inspiration really needs no introduction:




It’s not a secret that Audrey Hepburn is pretty much my favorite thing ever. Heck, it’s not even the first time I’ve paid tribute here on the blog (See also: Blockbuster Week). Alas, Audrey is an endless source of style inspiration for me. I never get tired of her looks. Her styles shifted many times over the years, from film to film, and she rocked them all.

One look I can honestly say I’ve never tried for myself is her beatnik-esque, gamine look. Circa “Funny Face” and parts of “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” It’s not really my style. Although I do think beatniks are super cool in their own right. I thought what the hey? I’ll give it my spin.





I didn’t know what to think about the fitted all-black ensemble. Sure it looks great on Audrey, but as soon as I donned it all I could think about was the fact that I was breaking The Cardinal Rule of Leggings, which is: Don’t Wear Leggings as Pants. How had I never noticed this before? My patron saint of style breaking one very hard and fast rule. How does she do it and get away with it? Sigh. Being that it’s Halloween Week, I decided a little rule negligence was okay. I braved the look. Although I confess, I left the trench on most of the day. This probably caused a lot of people to wonder if I was headed out at any given moment. But whatever. I’m cool like that.

Anyway. I was pretty happy with how this look came out and I was all kinds of excited to go out and take fun pictures of it. There was just one problem, which is the weather. Today was marked by persistent torrential winds, which ruined just about everything. Not only did it make a photo shoot next to impossible (tripods, don’t like wind) but it also completely trashed my sleek ‘do. I’m in desperate need of a haircut, but I was able to tame my weave into a neat Audrey-ish ponytail. Which then became disheveled about two seconds after stepping outside. Sigh.

Weather aside, it was a good day for an Audrey impersonation. What am I saying? Every day is a good day to be Audrey.

Turtleneck – Ross
Leggings – Work
Shoes – Payless
Trench – Work

Title courtesy of Deep Blue Something – “Breakfast At Tiffany’s”

