Tags

, , , , ,

Hello. Well it’s Wednesday, friends. This means two things:

a) It’s your last day to enter my giveaway and
b) It’s day four of THEME WEEK

For our October theme, I am getting costumed up. Only, instead of doing over the top getups for the sake of costuming, I am using the week to pay a more subtle tribute. Using only my own wardrobe and some of my favorite muses, I bring you Icon Week, in order to channel that inspiration into every day outfits. Today’s challenge:


Frida Kahlo isn’t really a fashion icon. But that’s not really what this week is about anyway. Influence takes many forms, and this is someone who encompasses inspiration to me. Frida led a complicated and painful life. She was not conventionally lovely. Yet she surrounded herself always with color and lived a life of true conviction. She channeled her challenges and transformed them into something extraordinarily beautiful. Isn’t that what we all strive for on some level?

Additionally, Frida Kahlo was forever taker and maker of self portraits. Which is something I know a little bit about.




So there are obvious dissimilarities between my icon and myself. I am kind of a white girl living in suburban Colorado. I haven’t painted anything since circa 2002. My outfit lacks some of the extravagance of Frida’s looks. I mean, I didn’t even have the cojones to pencil in my own unibrow, as some do when they pay proper tribute to Frida. But what Icon Week is really about, to me, is playing off the original and making it my own. Something wearable, under my own circumstances, utilizing only what I have in my own wardrobe.

Far removed from Ms. Kahlo’s native Mexico City, it was another cold cold and windy day where I live. The kind of day that makes me want to stay in bed and not get dressed at all. Further, I was nervous about this outfit, as is it pretty off the mark from my usual look. Still, there are elements to Frida’s aesthetic that really appeal to me. Her use of color and bold accessories. There is always cohesiveness amidst her chaos. A sort of method to the madness.

For my own version I pared it down to a few colors. I used layering not just to stay warm but to tie the elements together. I chose only one bold accessory rather than overwhelming the outfit and then I let it all stand alone. Is it perfect? Probably not. But I like it.

Dress – Thrifted
Black Long Sleeve Tee – Work
Earrings – Work
Shawl – Atlantic City street vendor
Shoes – Thrifted

Title courtesy of Jewel – “Painters”

