Tags

,

Happy Halloween! I hope everyone had a great holiday! I spent mine working and had so much fun handing out candy to adorable little kids. The best costume of the day was a miniature Scarlett O’Hara in full regalia. I died a little from all the cuteness. Totally made my day.

The ironic part is that with everything that went down this past theme week, I was completely ill-prepared for the big day. Fresh out of icons and clean laundry, I was kind of at a loss. I wasn’t going to dress up at all. But that wouldn’t be any fun would it?

This costume is a loaner from one of my employees. When she heard about my plight, she offered it up and I figured why not? But then I was a little at a loss for how to style it. It’s original wearer intended it as her getup in a Bonnie and Clyde duet. However, I had other designs on it – a sort of silent film star vampy take.

Although I am a huge 1920s enthusiast I have never donned the garb on Halloween for fear of being generic. I once attended a Halloween party where 19 out of 30 girls were dressed as flappers. And I just stood there dressed as The Fashion Police (sexy cop costume + rhinestones) looking awkward.

But with this dress I saw room for authenticity. I’m pretty pleased with how it came to life with only a few additions. The gentleman who runs my favorite coffee shop must have agreed because he told me that I looked fetching and it made him wish he were a woman so he could wear such a dress. I can’t be certain but that might be my favorite compliment all year.

Title courtesy of Dave Matthews Band – “So Much To Say”

