Tags

, , , , ,

Hi everybody! Well I think happy days are officially over for me. It started spitting snow tonight. It’s all downhill from here on out. Gone are the days of daylight and colorful surroundings. It’s about to get right dreary up in this bitch. It started to get dark circa 4:30 today and I kind of wanted to cry. I just loathe winter. If I had my way, I would live somewhere where it is perpetually autumn and maybe a brief spring. Is there even such a place. Probably not, because if there were, I would know about it. And I would live there already.

It doesn’t help that I am cold-blooded and have notoriously bad circulation. Last night I slept in three layers of clothes under three blankets and I was still freezing. Or maybe it was just the power of suggestion from watching “La Boheme.” The opera was beautiful by the way. I had an amazing time and I could totally be a convert. I now have designs on about a half a dozen other operas I want to see. Loved it. But I swear half of that play was about being cold and I haven’t been able to shake the feeling ever since.

How do you guys cope with the cold months? I’m not one for winter sports, so I am trying to gear myself up with promises of good books and lots of coffee. Down comforters. And scarves. These things help lessen the blow just slightly.

I have been having a lot of issues with blurry photos lately. I think my camera, like me, is pretty tired from our year of hard work. I keep telling her, hang in there old gal, only fifty more days to go. FIFTY. And then I’m not sure if I’m talking to the camera or myself anymore. But either way, we are in it to win it. The end is near.

Meanwhile, I continue to fight the good fight, busting out previously unworn pieces. Here are two of them – skirt and top – that I bought a year ago, prior even to the beginning of the project. Both were thrifted, and I think I was still developing my stride where thrifting is concerned. Nowadays I probably wouldn’t go for either of these pieces. But they are pretty indicative of the yearslong style rut that I was in prior to this project. Black and white skirts were like, a supreme staple. As much as I love a cute b/w skirt with a unique little pattern, one can only own so many before they become undistinguishable. This one is pretty cool and all, but it’s also a little too big and a little too long to be flattering. Ditto on the sweater. I like it’s cute little button detailing, but otherwise it’s pretty underwhelming.

Even still, I could never just turn my back on a cute skirt. And I thought it even more fortunate that they happened to work together. My obi belt helped fill in some awkward waist space. Furthermore, I felt pleased to come up with something that ended up looking quite polished out of two pieces I otherwise didn’t feel so confident about. It just goes to show that you can always make something work, with some ambition and a  little creativity. Tis the story of the last 314 days. Now on to the final 50!

Skirt – Thrifted
Sweater – Thrifted (Ann Taylor)
Shoes – Thrifted
Necklace – Work
Obi Belt – Wet Seal

Title courtesy of Lil Wayne ft. Eminem – “Drop The World”

