Tags

, , , , , ,

Happy Saturday you guys! I had a relatively mellow day and I’m quite okay with that. This is my week where things start to get crazzzzzy. Can you believe what time of year it is? I’ve almost all but forgotten that Thanksgiving is Thursday. I’m already so focused on Black Friday and Christmas (Followed by Christmas,Christmas,Christmas,CHRISTMAS!) Tonight on my way home I saw a Salvation Army bell-ringer and I thought oh gosh it’s that time already! But really it’s not.  Corporate America is warping our fragile little minds. Seriously, what ever happened to Thanksgiving? It’s gone practically extinct. Reduced to a blip on the Target endcap, after the Halloween candy gets clearanced out and the Christmas crap is out in full force.

I guess I don’t care all that much. Truth be told, Thanksgiving is my least favorite holiday. I mean I like the idea of Thanksgiving just fine. But when I was younger, it just seemed like a big crazy gluttonous, carnivorous, familial affair. All things I wasn’t crazy about. As I’ve grown up, I am fond of taking a day to be gracious and thankful. A nice reflective pause before the real madness of the holidays sets in. Now if only we could just change the menu up a bit. Try as I might, I loathe all of the following things – mashed potatoes, gravy, stuffing and cranberries. Okay maybe that’s the real reason I hate Thanksgiving.  Blech. What about you guys? Any thoughts on Turkey Day?

There was some rather scattered dressing going on this morning. I didn’t oversleep per se. I awoke at the same fine hour of 7 a.m. that I seem to wake up at without fail every day. The problem was just that I didn’t want to leave the warm cocoon of my bed that I had going on. The cold mornings have been killing me lately So I hid under the covers far longer than I usually do or by all rights should have. Further complicating matters, I spent way too much time at the kitchen table drinking coffee and working on a crossword. I guess you could say procrastination was my jam, this day.

When I at last got around to getting dressed, I was in a hurry and completely without a clue for what to wear. I ended up throwing this getup together very quickly and after messing around with a few variables, I was content with the outcome. What I really like is the blend of muted colors here. It’s almost like I had on a bright outfit and then decided to roll around in a dusty antique shop. Perfect amidst the dismal weather we’ve been having and nice fall to winter transition, I thought. Lastly, I love the mix of subtle pinstripes going on here.

As an added bonus, I sold a couple of these tops today while donning mine. That’s always a compliment in disguise. Now if only I could do this every item in my store that we have an abundance of to sell. Ugly bulky sweater week, coming your way!

Rose Button Down – Garage Sale
Button Down Ruffle Shirt – Work
Pants – Thrifted
Shoes – Thrifted
Belt – Thrifted

Necklace – The Icing

Title courtesy of Suzanne Vega – “Tom’s Diner”

