Tags

, , , , , , ,

Do you guys ever play around on Pandora? I know it’s a fairly cliché way to go about cultivating your musical taste and it’s by no means failsafe. It’s so the antithesis to indie music love. But lately I am digging the heck out of it. I’ve discovered a handful of great new groups, which is perfect because I don’t really have the time to go out and find new music anymore. Another site I love is StereoMood, where it picks the music for your based on your inclinations. Unfortunately there is no station for “Looking for a nice wall to bang my head against.” But it does offer a number of legitimate options for angsty days.

Lately I’ve been feeling way too angst-ridden about a number of things but I am doing my best to stay focused. I went to yoga today for the first time in about two weeks and the instructor often reminds us to “reconnect with [our] intention” throughout the practice. The intention is completely up to the individual and it’s just a way to get through the hour. But I like to think this works in life too. As the project is nearing completion I am trying to realign with the original goal – to wear a different outfit every day for a year and have fun doing it. Enough stressing about pulling out all the stops and further, I have to stop stressing about what happens next and just enjoy the ride. Feel free to remind me of this at any point in the next 39 days. I may need it.

Apparently fun is another way of saying “style rut” I’m wearing the same leggings and boots as yesterday! Tsk tsk! But today I guess that’s okay as I changed up as much elsewhere, as I possibly could. I have to admit that lately, my only real objective is warmth. The weather just isn’t letting up and when it’s cold, I tend to care less and less about what I wear in favor of just not freezing. Layers layers and more layers.

This outfit was actually semi-inspired by a friend that I met for coffee this morning. She was wearing a black and white scarf with a blue sweater and I loved the color combo. I played around with the scheme for myself and this is what I came up with. Style stalking sometimes pays good dividends. Because as similar as it may be to other incarnations this week, I am still wholly pleased with this look.

Depending on the barometer tomorrow I may try and rock a dress. Or I may try and set a new record for most days in a row wearing black leggings and boots. Stay tuned to find out!

Blue Cardigan – Charlotte Russe
Black Leggings – Work
Black Long Sleeve – Work
White Rouched Tank – Work
Boots – Work
Scarf- Work
Necklace – Work

Title courtesy of Sara Bareilles and Ingrid Michaelson – “Winter Song”

