Tags

, , , , ,

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Today will be a bit of a lame post, as I’m kinda stoned on turkey, turkey and…leftover turkey. As I’m sure most of you are, unless you’re a vegan or one of those fancy people who eats tilapia off a cedar plank for Thanksgiving. I did pretty well today. And by that I mean that for someone who disdains most Thanksgiving fare, I still managed to pack it in like a pro. I feel pretty sated right now from all the carbs and what-not. It was a very low-key day and I wanted to take a nap on multiple occasions but refrained. My goal is to be asleep by 10:30, so that I won’t be completely sleep deprived when I wake up at 4:00 to go to work. My mall opens at six, which really isn’t bad by my standards. It kind of makes me sick anymore, the way stores are opening up on Thanksgiving proper, all for the sake of mindless consumerism. I’d climb up on my soap box but I’m too fat right now from all the cookies and pie.

But anyway. I hope you all had a wonderful and happy holiday and that you have lots and lots to be thankful for. I know I do.

 

Don’t say I didn’t warn you about the lameness. See, I would like to be one of those people who totally scrubs it up on Thanksgiving and just wears pajamas. But I’ve never been that person and especially not with this blog to run. I’ve always been of the mind that one should dress up for the holidays. I think it dates back to being a kid and dressing nice every year, in hopes that I might be mistaken for an adult and not banished to the kiddie table (You all know what I’m talking about.) Alas, it never worked. And as someone of my stature, sometimes I still have to fight for my spot.

But today, I compromised. I decided to bust out this weird cardigan thing, which has all the resemblance of a bathrobe, but is in fact a sweater. Neat huh? I usually wear this thing to yoga or while lounging around the house. But today after going to Thanksgiving yoga at my gym, I decided that I really didn’t want to take it off. Tied just right, it takes on a nice soft asymmetrical kimono shape. And so I dressed it up a bit with some jewelry, headband and dress pants. The overall effect was quite comfortable, yet not entirely schlubby. So a win in my book.

Pictures are admittedly lame because I just barely roused myself from a food coma to get them done before the sun went down. Now I just have to lay out my clothes for tomorrow and go to bed. Black Friday brouhaha is tomorrow. Please keep me in your thoughts and prayers.

Cardigan – Thrifted
Pants – Kohl’s
Navy Long Sleeve – Work
Headband – Work
Necklace – 5.7.9
Shoes – Old Navy

Title courtesy of Mickey Avalon – “Jane Fonda”

