Tags

, , , , , ,

Happy Saturday everybody!

I am feeling a bit more peppy today. I managed to log a full eight hours of sleep for the first time in a long time, and it was a wonderful recovery after Black Friday madness. I was feeling pretty overwrought there for a few days. But I went for a run this morning. (Thirty-six whole degrees! I almost got warm!) I have some secret creative doing brewing in my brain. And now I’m gearing up for another long work day. I get to close the store at the awful hour of 10 p.m. Oh, extended holiday hours. How do I loathe thee? Let me count the ways… Otherwise, it’s a good day.

Just one item on the blogkeeping agenda today. I wanted to give you a heads up that tomorrow will not be the start of a theme week. Sad day, I know. As you guys who read regularly know, the last week of the month is usually a Theme week. But here’s the plan: we only really have room for one more theme week before the close of the project. The last week of December will be devoted to project wrap-up and reflections on the year. Therefore, I am slating Theme Week somewhere in the middle. AKA the week after next. This will give me just slightly more time to recover from my busy week and be better prepared. So no fear okay? Theme Week hasn’t been done away with, just ever-so-slightly delayed. Okay? Okay.

We are finally having a bit of nicer weather here today, which makes me very excited for a couple of reasons: 1) I am tired of freezing my behind off and 2) Skirt time! Seriously. I was waaaaaay overdue for a skirt day. Skirts make me giddily happy and I can usually tell when I have hit a rough patch or a rut by the lack of skirts action in my repertoire. I can’t say which comes first. The depression or the absence of skirts. But I do think there is a direct correlation. So today felt like a good day to remedy this dire situation.

Here is a skirt I haven’t worn in some time, either. I love love love this gauzy white skirt. It was just a super cheap thrift find. And on the hanger it isn’t much to behold. But I’m always pleasantly surprised by the variety I’ve been able to eke out of this skirt and how fun it is to wear. It also brightens up otherwise dark color schemes. I love this navy and mustard combo, but without the pop of white, I think it would fall flat. It’s been awhile since I’ve worn white (it’s after Labor day, mind you) but I thought I’d push the envelope on a little winter white and I’m glad I did. I’ve missed you whiteness!

I think I’ve mentioned before that I tend to assign a frontrunner color to the various seasons of my life. This practice began sometime circa 2004 with what I deemed “My Pink Summer.” Which was followed by “My Turquoise Autumn.” During these periods, I then base a lot of my wardrobe choices and other acquisitions based on the color du jour. But anymore, I don’t really choose the colors consciously, so much as they choose me. And lately I think my color is navy blue. I really can’t get enough. So if I start going overkill, please kindly tap me on the shoulder and ask me to throw a bone to the other colors…say coral or jade green. But in the meantime, I think we are in the midst of a Navy Winter.

What about you guys? What color can you not get enough of these days?

Skirt – Thrifted (F21)
Navy Long Sleeve – Work
Cardigan – Target
Belt – Thrifted
Tights – Thrifted
Necklace – Wet Seal
Shoes – Thrifted (Candie’s)

Title courtesy of Tracy Bonham – “Navy Bean”

