Tags

, , , , ,

Black Friday weekend: I came, I saw, I conquered. Definition of conquered is of course open to interpretation. I am quite exhausted but I made it to the other side.

The weekend was not without its challenges. Friday evening one of my computers decided to crash, which left us operating on one register. And unable to run credit cards without calling each one in and taking manual imprints. For every single one. The entire process took something as simple as swiping a card and made it about an eight-minute affair per customer. Never a dull moment. Saturday was quieter than Friday and today was even less busy. We are still without our technology until Tuesday which meant we lost some business here and there.  But for the most part people were patient and kind. No one rolled their eyes of tapped they’re acrylic nails obnoxiously on the counter. And I didn’t have the overwhelming urge to cut a bitch. So. That’s about all you can ask for.

That said, I am ready for my half day off tomorrow. There will be plenty more time to stress and run around like a madwoman as Christmas approaches. Almost a month more of listening to the same five terrible Christmas songs and wondering how Jessica Simpson can belt out “Let it Snow” so painfully without rupturing a lung. More time to be stuck behind a counter ringing up Christmas gifts for everyone and wonder when the eff I am supposed to do my own shopping. More time to overdose on cookies and caffeine. But for just a few hours tomorrow, I’m going to pretend like it doesn’t exist. It’s going to be glorious.

Remember this cute Old Navy top that I wore some time ago and almost wrote off because it was so badly fitted? Yeah me neither. Because after the last poor experience, you would have thought that I would have left well enough alone. But sometimes amnesia works in our favor, yes? Today I tried a different angle on the top and I think it came out pretty peachy. The addition of a fitted sweater helped subdue the balloon effect in the torso and also made it a warmer version for winter. Win!

Something else is also making a comeback today and I couldn’t be happier. It’s The Ultimo Bird Necklace, as I like to call it. How can you go wrong with this menagerie around your neck? Oh that’s right. You can’t. I wish I could wear this necklace every day but I like the idea of saving it for special occasions. And by special occasions, I mean days when you feel the need to wear a three-pound necklace covered in birds. Oh yeah.

An overall pretty simple look, I’d say but the delight here is in the details. The fun print of the blouse and the whimsy of my necklace. I love it all. I’d say more but I think it’s time to throw in the towel and curl up with some tea for the night. I will catch all you hip cats tomorrow. G’Night!

Blouse – Thrifted (Old Navy)
Sweater – Max Rave
Pants – Thrifted
Shoes – Payless
Necklace – F21

 Title courtesy of Chappo – “Come Home”

