Tags

,

Gooooood morning. Well. Evening by the time I finish and post this. But sometimes I have to put together the blog in bits and pieces throughout my day and today is like that. It’s just after noon and I’ve already had a pretty eventful day.

I got up this morning pretty early to run a Christmas 5k. I’ve been keeping pretty mum about my running adventures lately, for two reasons: 1) there hasn’t been a whole lot going on and 2) I live in fear of jinxing things, since my last two injury disasters – The Rib Fiasco and Hipgate – respectively. Since my injury this summer I have sort of been testing the waters and getting back into the swing of racing with some 5ks, here and there. So far so good. I do occasionally experience hip pain when not running. Usually when I’m really cold or really stressed but not while in motion. Whatever that means. For the most part I have healed up nicely from thinking I’d never run again. (I can be a little dramatic, it’s true. But I really did believe that for awhile). So I’ve kept plugging away and been training pretty consistently, with outdoor runs and everything. Even in the bitter cold, I’ve been pretty determined.

Admittedly, I’ve been on a bit of a mission all year. I can be pretty self-competitive, and thus am always bent on setting new personal records. That’s why I have love for 5k races. Easy to train for and consistently push yourself to new bests. I more or less bested myself back in July but then proceeded to bum out because I narrowly missed the 25:00 mark. Post injury I was pleased to see that I hadn’t lost much time but I was still jonesing for my under-25-minute-finish. Which brings us to today:

24: 51!

You knew there had to be at least one race day outfit photo right? Initially I had hoped that my post-race glory shot would be after the half-marathon, but since that didn’t come to pass, we have to start somewhere! I am still waiting for rankings to get posted online, but from what I understood based on the awards ceremony, I missed placing by only a matter of seconds. Boo to that, but yay to setting new personal records!

After the race I was super short on time, so rather than put together a whole outfit/photoshoot, I chose to rock the running gear for the blog. I then treated myself to a super casual scarf and slacks combo for work, which wasn’t blogworthy, nor did I have the time to snap pictures of it. But if there’s one thing I have learned this year, it’s that the outfit doesn’t necessarily make the day. Sometimes the day makes the outfit. Today was a good day and that’s good enough for me.

If it’s not for you, then tune in tomorrow. THEME WEEK is a comin’!

Title courtesy of Chris Brown – “Run It”

