Tags

, , , , , ,

G’day kiddies! Did everyone get to yesterday’s post okay? There seems to have been some issues with it, and with the comments. If you had any trouble, just go back one. It should be fine now. And besides, I wouldn’t want you to miss any of THEME WEEK!  How about another tune to get us enthused?

Indeed! Nutcracker Theme week has entered day two of the challenge. All week I’m putting together outfits based on inspiration from the popular holiday ballet. I gotta admit, I’m already getting excited. To further immerse myself in this theme, I even dug out my old copy of the Tchaikovsky soundtrack. I wasn’t sure if I still had it, as it is the very first CD I every purchased as a wee Jenny. Many moons ago for Christmas, I received my first boom box, and I chose “The Nutcracker Suite” as my inaugural playlist. Yeah, I was that kid. But I like to think I just had an early appreciation for the arts. So imagine my delight when I found my copy still very much intact, housed in my case of old CDs. It was in the classical section sandwiched between “Les Mis”, “Andrew Lloyd Webber Naturally”, and “The Three Tenors: Greatest Hits”. Yeah. I was that kid, too.

But enough about me. Let’s see who is our character du jour.


Oooh. You were expecting someone a bit more sugary right? Well, there are plenty of days left in the week for that. But you can’t have “The Nutcracker” without creepy Herr Drosselmeyer, now can you? I mean, he is the purveyor of the Nutcracker doll and catalyst for all of the action. Plus he wears a sweet, sweet eye patch. Très dramatique!

This was harder than I thought it would be. The actual elements that compose Drosselmeyer’s costume are pretty straighfoward. Lots of black, with dramatic details. I knew my coat would be a great match, but the rest kind of had to be thrown together. I have plenty of dark tones in my wardrobe, so I played around for a few. Tried a striped shirt, but it made me look more like Hamburglar. And while I have much love for the Happy Meal, that’s not really apropos for this theme week. So finally, I settled on this combo.

Plus, it gave me an excuse to try out my new boots! The lovely people at Wanted Shoes recently offered to send me a pair to try out and I was beyond stoked. A first outside contribution to the project! It took me several days of hemming and hawing to choose a pair from their site, but I finally selected these boots and I heart them! They are replacing my old pair of black buckle boots. I loved them, but they were getting kind of beat up and gross. So the offer could not have come at a better time. These new boots are way comfy and a brilliant replacement. Many many thanks to Wanted Shoes!

Lastly, I cannot take complete credit for my sunglass eyepatch rig. This is something we do at work when we get bored and are processing damaged items. One employee will don the busted pair, turn around dramatically and make pirate noises. Much amusement ensues. So if you have more pairs of sunglasses than you know what to do with (like me) and are way too easily entertained (like me) go ahead and try it sometime!

Jacket – Work
Black Crochet Top – F21
Grey Long Sleeve – Work
Capris – Ross
Fleece Lined Leggings – Work
Boots – c/o WantedShoes.com

Title courtesy of Dr. Dre feat. Eminem – “Forgot About Dre”

