Tags

, , , , , ,

Hello all! Happy Tuesday!

You know what I like about Tuesday? Well. Nothing really. Except that it is day three of THEME WEEK! Are you catching the holiday spirit yet? If not, let’s try again. Let’s crank some tunes!

Oh yeah. We are getting our Tchaikovsky jam on! If you’ve just tuned in, I’ve chosen Nutcracker Week as my theme for November/December.  As with every theme week, I pick a theme and then center my outfits for the week around that theme. This week I am picking my outfits in homage to characters in the Nutcracker Ballet. Using only what’s in my closet, I bring you various interpretations of the characters from the story. I’m finding it’s a great way to not only mix up my wardrobe, but also get in the holiday spirit.

Let’s see who’s look we have to tackle today…

Hooray! It’s the Snow Queen! I think the Snow Queen costume is actually my favorite of the entire ensemble. I just think it’s so pretty and there is so many lovely variations you can make with the ice blue and white hues. Plus, there’s always room for sparkle where the Snow Queen is involved. I can dig it!

Hmmm. I confess I’m not sure how I feel about this outfit. As an everyday outfit, I like it alright. It’s not something I would have ordinarily gone for. But as you know, Theme Weeks are all about branching out and breaking up the monotony. Therefore, it’s a nice effort in that direction. As an interpretation of the costume and the character, however, I’d say it’s a bit loose.

And that’s okay I guess. It’s kind of like one of those “modern adaptations” or “reinvisionings” Which is something I’m always up in the air about. One one hand, I think it’s nice to lend a new spin to things. On the other – if it ain’t broke…don’t fix it. This is how I feel usually when I see that they’re remaking a classic old 80s movie or coming out with yet another cover of a song I already liked. These things make me nervous. Sort of like this outfit. This is how I think the Snow Queen would dress if she also happened to be Gretchen from Project Runway. And I don’t know how I feel about that either! It’s a crisis, I tell you!

In any event, I did get to incorporate some favorite items into this look – ice blue scarf, grey floral tights. As well as some yet unseen ones – this tunic blouse and my electric blue shoes. As a bonus, it was even nice enough to wear a mini skirt and tights without me turning into the literal snow queen. So I guess I’m okay with things afterall.

Tunic Blouse – 5.7.9
Navy Long Sleeve – Work
Mini Skirt – Max Rave
Tights – F21
Scarf – Gift from The Mom
Necklace – The Icing
Shoes – Thrifted

Title courtesy of Coldplay – “Violet Hill”

