Tags

, , , , ,

Happy Sunday out there in blogland! I am taking a very brief break to do this post.

What am I up to? Well, let’s just call it CookieFest 2010. For the past two nights, I’ve spent my evening off in a veritable goodie-making frenzy. There aren’t many domestic things that I do super well. Okay none. But if there’s one task at which I excel, it’s cookies. Mostly I have been hard at work on the icing portion of the project. Yes I do so love to ice cookies. Colors and sprinkles and swirls! You know the expression “well that really frosts my cookies.” Yeah, I never understood that expression in context. I mean, if something frosts your cookies, how could it ever be a bad thing?

So anyway, I have been whittling away the hours covered in sugar, and jazzed on sweets. If I show up on the blog tomorrow weighing about 300 extra pounds, it will be from licking the knife a few too many times. AND IT WILL STILL BE WORTH IT. Frosting is the medium, the muse and the fuel. All in one. Why frosting has yet to be named a super food, is kind of beyond me.

Have I mentioned that I kind of have senioritis of the blog? Maybe that’s the reason behind the school marm getup today. I don’t know. But it’s true. It’s like when you’re about to graduate and you’ve put in all the time and you know you’ve only got a couple of papers left so you really should make it count but also you’re kind of tired and not really interested to the point that you can’t be bothered to punctuate let alone truncate a run-on sentence that’s gone on for like a bazillion years? Yeah. It’s kind of like that.

Since I’m pretty dang busy for the last few weeks of the year, I sat down today on my lunch break and did some planning. I jotted down an essential outline for the last 20-ish days of the project including outfits, song titles and potential musings (yes, I really have a master plan for all this pointless nonsense!) This way, if things get too crazy and I don’t have the energy on the spot, I still have a backup plan. And of course it made me rather sad, thinking about just how far we’ve come in all these shenanigans. It’s the home stretch here, kids.

As frustrating as it can be on mornings like this one, where I’m up a little earlier than I’d like, primping. Throwing clothes all over the room because such-and-such combo didn’t work and I still have to be out the door and get pictures taken before work. As hectic and frantic as it can be some days, I daresay I don’t know what I’ll do when it’s over. There will be a strange emptiness in my life where toting around the tripod, and freezing my toes off in some awkward pose used to be. Granted, these won’t be my last outfit posts, ever. But life is going to be strange without the daily grind,  you know?

So anyway. Today’s outfit isn’t super spectacular, but the result of just another one of those mornings. I like the monochromatic brown thing happening and also that it’s all a bit retro. And hey! One last shout out to the knee socks creepers! I owe this one to the fact that I desperately need to go shopping for tights. But I kind of like the look. I guess there’s a little something for everybody today?

Dress- Thrifted
Cardigan – Work
Belt – 5.7.9
Socks – Work
Shoes – Payless

Title courtesy of  The Ting Tings – “Hands”

