Tags

, , , ,

Note to self: when closing the store at 10:00 at night, finish the blog before work as late nights and blogging are not conducive to one another. Yeah. Today rather sucked. There’s not much I can say about it, as much of it isn’t blog- appropriate. But. I will say that prior to today, I had no idea just how many people could fail to grasp the basic tenants of a buy one, get one 1/2 off sale. How do people not know how this works? Have they never shopped before? Equal or lesser value, people. Higher price prevails. Learn it. Live it. Love it.

I spent my day thinking a lot about how Ghandi might handle the situations I find myself in. How would Mother Theresa behave in such circumstances? Or an exalted saint? A jedi for that matter? So far I haven’t come up with anything that soothes my nerves but I’m not giving up yet. So far the only thing that’s working for me is thinking about kiosk workers. Yeah. As a mall employee, I observe my fair share of these, manning their carts day in day out. And I figure it must take an enormous amount of patience to be confined to a stool all day hawking cell-phone covers and knock-off sunglasses. If only I could be more like those guys.

But  I think it takes a special breed of person for that job. Every year, I watch with interest as we receive our newest installment of seasonal kiosk carnies. The past few years have brought me some rather entertaining new faces. From the Eurotrash handcream people to the customized sign guy. He seemed benign at first, with his jolly beer belly and his penchant for Hawaiian shirts. But later he commenced to be a total creeper who would not stop coming in to my store to chit chat. Alas this year, we are stuck with a rather lackluster crew peddling those microwavable neck packs. So far all they seem to do is get fired. Kind of makes me miss the Dead Sea folk. As annoying as they were with their incessant sales pitches, they also provided endless intrigue after two of them struck up a tryst and had some very public lover’s quarrels. Yeah. That was a good Christmas.

Remember this dress from Orange Day ala monochromatic week? Yeah. I never really felt like it got it’s moment in the sun. In fact I more or less forgot about it until some reason closet cleaning. There’s only so much you can do with a tube dress, but I figured there had to be another remix in there somewhere. I don’t think I’ve ever worn black and orange together so blatantly, but it seemed the most appropriate for winter. My thought was that the black might help the embroidery stand out better. I even swapped out the original orange sash for this black ribbon. But really, I think it merely emphasizes the awkwardness of how this dress fits. Oops. It’s cute in theory, but I think this lil lady is headed for consignment in the near future. I’m just not digging it.

But hooray for winterizing spring dresses. I felt warm and cozy all day with my long sleeves and fleece tights. It almost makes me feel bad for all the times I chided kids in school who would wear long sleeves under a t-shirt. My thought was that, if it’s cold? Just wear a long sleeve shirt? Stop trying to make t-shirts happen when it clearly isn’t t-shirt weather! But with dresses? I totally get it. That said, it hasn’t been very cold here at all. It’s nearly Christmas and the snow has been basically AWOL. It’s…odd. Not that I’m complaining.

Anyway. I should probably hit the hay, since I have to turn around open the store early. I wish there was more I could say, but that’s all I got. Better luck tomorrow, I guess.

Title courtesy of Bing Crosby – “Mele Kalikimaka”

