Tags

, , , , , ,

Hello and happy Saturday. Did you know there is only one shopping week left until Christmas? Oh I did. I worked all day until 10:30 at night at the store. I can’t even tell you how ready I am for the actual holiday. Please Christmas don’t be late! Mostly because I am sick to death of you already.

In the interim, I am still just holding it down, as best as can be expected. I felt fortunate to get away to the ballet, though, last night. It was fabulous. I may have to check out more performances in the future, because I’d forgotten how much I enjoy it. I am also going to try and squeeze in a solo date for myself to go see “The Black Swan.” It looks so freaky awesome. And a trip to the movies? Sitting in a dark theatre alone? Seems like the next best thing to a Zen Buddhist retreat, which is what I could really use after the past few weeks. Still. I love ballet movies! Unlike cheerleading movies they, always live up to their potential.  After coming home last night I had the sudden urge to watch the awesomely bad “Center Stage” or maybe even some “Save the Last Dance” if we’re getting really smarmy.

I’m at the point in the project where I’m just making up random ways to decompress. I can’t wait to make the least of my free time, once I’m no longer obligated to my daily posting duties. I love you Closet365 Project. But I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t counting down the days. Fourteen more to go…

Wheee! Lookee! It’s an outfit I like. Today’s outfit is actually all about the scarf. It’s one of the few items that was due for a wear. And admittedly, I was really tempted to go the lazy route with it. As in, long sleeve layered shirts, slacks and maybe a necklace. Totally my default outfit when I’m feeling lazy. But at the last minute I decided to give it a bit more of college try and I’m really glad I did. I finally got a handful of compliments for my efforts.

But actually, part of the reason was that I had to go out and pass out Christmas cookies. After our massive cookie-making efforts, The Mom enlisted my help to hand them out around the neighborhood. And since I haven’t really been a resident of said neighborhood for many years, I thought I might want to look presentable. As in Capable Adult rather than Strange Girl Who Wears Coats of Many Colors and Takes Pictures of Herself. Which is my given Indian name, but not really apropos to be out playing Cookie Ambassador. I thought this was a nice mature, holiday-esque combo, while still cute for work and playing homage to the scarf du jour.

Lastly, I just have to say that there is something I really love about this time of year and that is – Scarf Appreciation. I can’t tell you how many people have come out of the woodwork this Christmas season and purchased scarves as Christmas gifts this year. Even better, they come into my store and solicit my help in selecting these scarves and it is like my favorite thing ever. As soon as a gentleman (or sometimes a lady) comes into my store and requests help picking out a scarf to give to another person, I get the widest smile. And then we go forth and change the world together. One scarf at a time.

Black rouched top – Work
Scarf – Work
Skirt – Max Rave
Leggings – Work
Boots – Target

Title courtesy of The Darkness – “Christmas Time (Don’t Let the Bells End)”

