Tags

, , , , , ,

Well hello! How is everyone today? I hope everyone had the loveliest Christmas. Mine was pretty tame but I got some nice gifts and some quality time with my family. So what more can you ask for really? Exactly. What did you guys get for Christmas. I am so nosy. I want to know!

Meanwhile, back at the ranch, I worked all day. Things should slowly start to return to normal. No more obnoxious Christmas music. No more crazy early mornings and late nights. No more stupid mall security blocking off the parking lot and making mall employees park in BFE. The mall was pretty busy with people shopping after-Christmas sales. Not a remarkable lot of returns either. So I win again! Maybe it’s going to be a good week after all! And it should be. Know why? Because there are only five, FIVE more outfits to go after today. This is it, my friends. We are almost all done. I think I’m still in shock that it’s over. Or more accurately, in shock that I made it to this point.

That is if I still have any readers after yesterday’s spectacle. Seriously? Is anybody still out there or did I just ruin all my street cred?

On this day, (as with many days) I have no idea what the eff I am going for. I just kinda like this one. I got this awesome brocade jacket on the very last thrifting trip and had planned to wear it on several occasions, one of which was yesterday for Christmas. But since it keeps getting shafted, I decided to just bite the bullet and style it up. I mean, it’s not like I’m abundant on days left to wear it. I had kinda sorta envisioned wearing it with my striped shirt. So even though it’s maybe ill-advised to wear horizontal stripes on the day after you just consumed 10,000 calories (8,000 of which were Christmas cookies) I decided to just throw caution to the wind.

I do think something is askew with the proportions here and it’s not doing me a good lot of favors. But if, I’ve learned one thing about outfitting this year it is: Create A Diversion. As in, wear a big flower on your head and a bright pink scarf and no one will ask you any questions. If nothing else, these elements were necessary to brighten the look and lend it a bit of excitement. And I may just need to re-evaluate the keeping of these pants based on length. Something about them, just doesn’t flatter the way they used to. Is it possible that 2010 was the year I grew an inch? Not likely, but a girl can dream, yes?

Final summation: I do not recommend wearing horizontal stripes on the day after you consumed your own body weight in Grandma’s fudge. But then I also wouldn’t recommend attempting to wear 365 different outfits in just as many days. So what do I know?

Jacket – Thrifted
Striped Shirt – Thrifted
Pants – Work
Scarf – Work
Necklace – Work
Shoes – Payless

Title courtesy of The Postal Service – “We Will Become Silouhettes”

