Tags

, , , , , ,

Good evening everybody! Thanks so much yesterday, for sharing your Christmas gifts with me! It was so much fun reading about what everybody else got. I got some great gifts myself, but it’s always fun to live vicariously through the acquisitions of others, don’t you agree? Almost all my gifts were of the monetary or pseudo-monetary (gift card) persuasion, so one never knows what I’ll end up with, but I personally love shopping for myself the best. (You never guessed, right?) So I am very excited about my Christmas goodies.

And anyway, it’s nice to hear from you all for a change. Serious question: how many of you are sick of my by this point? And if not, then how are you not sick of me? I realized today that I need a break from myself after this year. Those of you who blog or write, are probably familiar with that inner monologue that occurs when you’re a writer. You know, the constant narrative always running through the events of the day? Composing, categorizing, editing, playing around with words up in your brain? The mental crumpling of paper. Smoothing it back out. Feeding it back through. The maniacal typewriter’s DING! Yeah that thing. Well, after a year of blogging on a daily deadline, mine never really stops running. Except maybe in my sleep, and sometimes not even then.I asked for a taser for Christmas, but I guess Santa is holding out on me.  Anyway it’s kind of annoying. I’m sick of hearing myself think.

Whether your sick of me or not, I have good news – ONLY FOUR MORE DAYS TO GO. After that, you can enjoy the silence. But there will be plenty of wrap-up posts, and I’ll most likely continue to use this space for outfit posts beyond the project’s end. And of course there’s that whole other blog in the works and…and…and… Oh God. It’s never really going to shut up, is it?


 Hello Outfit #361. Gosh that feels good to say. Feels pretty good to wear too, as I really like how this one turned out. I was a little sketch about this lace top. It’s a new purchase. I told you I knew just what to do with Christmas money! And I thought it was adorable. But the problem is that I don’t really do adorable intrinsically. It’s something I avoid by virtue of my height and my Minnie Mouse voice. (If you think you’re sick of my blogging voice, just imagine it read aloud!) I just don’t like to look “cute.” It’s not the adjective I aim for. I don’t want to look like I belong doing backup dancing in a Gwen Stefani video. Granted it happens from time to time. But I don’t like my adorable factor to look overt and thus tend to avoid overly cutesy pieces.

Luckily, I think I was able to work this from an angle that came out slightly more sophisticated. Or at least I’d like to think. I got a lot of compliments on this look. Mostly from my staff. One of my employees commented that this said naughty secretary to her. (???) And while she actually meant that as a compliment, I have to disagree. I’m thinking more Victorian Hussy. I mean, at least know your period costume. Sheesh.

No. I don’t know, but I do like the overall combo. Lots of fun with muted colors and frilly elements. But enough dissecting. I got four days left of spewing nonsense still to go. I better conserve my resources!

Lace Blouse – 5.7.9
Skirt – Thrifted
Scarf – Work
Brown Tights – Wet Seal
Pearls – F21
Boots – 5.7.9

Title courtesy of Michelle Branch – “Goodbye to You”

